15 Nov 2021 | Amateur golf |

Victorian Order of Merit winners crowned

by Golf Australia

Toby Walker & Jeneath Wong
Toby Walker & Jeneath Wong

Jeneath Wong and Toby Walker have been recognised as Victoria’s best performed amateur golfers – topping the State’s 2020/21 Order of Merit (OOM).

Wong, a 17-year-old, based out of The Metropolitan Golf Club, was outstandingly consistent throughout the season, with three wins and two seconds from her five starts, to win her maiden Susie Tolhurst Trophy from Jesika Clark (The Victoria) and Linley Ooi (GolfPass) respectively.

Wins in the Aygee Traralgon Classic and the Western Port Open, were capped off by a standout win at the Riversdale Cup for the talented teenager.

“COVID made it difficult but I was really happy with my performances across the year, especially defending my title at the Riversdale Cup,” said Wong.

“Hopefully next year is less restricted and I can travel around the country and overseas to test myself against the best.”

Walker, 22, from Yarra based club Heidelberg, comfortably won his second men’s Ivo Whitton Trophy in two years from Edward Donoghue (The Metropolitan) and Antony Majstorovic (The Victoria).

The Victorian open age and junior OOM’s have officially concluded whilst the Victorian Senior OOM will conclude with the Mornington Peninsula Senior Amateur in late November.

The Victorian calendar was severely impacted due to COVID-19 throughout 2021, but the 2021/22 season will kick off in hope of a much smoother season.

The open age OOM for both men and women, kicks off at the Flinders Summer Open on December 5.

In the Victorian junior OOM, Louise Baliton has put together a terrific season to claim victory.

The 15-year-old from Mt Derrimut Golf Club, was victorious at the Riversdale Junior Open, Victorian Junior Masters, Northern Junior Open, Rosanna Junior Open and the Victoria Golf Club Junior Classic (inc. Lady Tallis Junior Girls Tournament).

Sophie Mann finished in second place, edging out Amelia Harris in a tight finish.

The boys OOM saw Spring Valley’s Siddharth Annangi reign supreme holding off Abel Eduard and Sang Jun Lee in a close finish.

Annangi recorded victories at the Riversdale Junior Open and Rosanna Junior Opens as well as another ten top 10 finishes.

The 2021 Golf Australia Signature Tournament held yesterday at Gardiners Run is the first event of the new junior OOM season.

In the Victorian senior OOM, the Doug Bachli Trophy will see Kevin Naismith take an insurmountable lead into the final event.

The fight for second is tight between James Lavender and Kevin Sims and a win for either of them at the Mornington Peninsula Senior Amateur should be enough to claim second.

In the Paul Lulofs Trophy, 28 points separates the top three with Keith Finkelde holding a slender lead over Terry Thompson and Kevin Sims.

Phil Nunn is a further 43 points behind and is well and truly in the mix.

In the women’s scratch OOM, Helen Pascoe has continued her dominance of recent years and will almost certainly be crowned champion again.

Pascoe has an average of 29.88, ahead of Heather Harley (24.00) and Cheryl Disher (23.38).

The Women’s stableford is set up for a fantastic finish with four players within .5 of a shot.

Jen Le Cerf leads the way on 35.50 but Judith Fitzgerald (35.20), Cheryl Disher (35.13) and Dale Thompson (35.00) are all within striking distance.

The Vic OOM events form the early stages of our high-performance pathway in providing much needed competitive playing opportunities to develop our next generation.

The senior OOM’s for 2021/22 will align with the open age and junior OOM by adopting the same points system for their upcoming season.

The women’s senior OOM will also move from an average to the same points system for the first time.

The season will begin with the Sorrento Senior Amateur on December 2.


Victorian Open Age Women’s Order of Merit (Susie Tolhurst Trophy):

1. Jeneath Wong (The Metropolitan Golf Club)

2. Jesika Clark (Victoria Golf Club)

3. Linley Ooi (GOLFPASS Golf Club)

Victorian Open Age Men’s Order of Merit (Ivo Whitton Trophy):

1. Toby Walker (Heidelberg Golf Club)

2. Edward Donoghue (The Metropolitan Golf Club)

3. Antony Majstorovic (Victoria Golf Club)

Victorian Girls’ Order of Merit (Future Champions Trophy):

1. Louise Baliton (Mt. Derrimut Golf Club)

2. Sophie Mann (Keysborough Golf Club)

3. Amelia Harris (Yarra Yarra Golf Club)

Victorian Boys’ Order of Merit (Geoff Ogilvy Trophy):

1. Siddharth Annangi (Spring Valley Golf Club)

2. Abel Eduard (Kew Golf Club)

3. Sang Jun Lee (Huntingdale Golf Club)

*Victorian Senior Women’s Scratch Order of Merit:

1. Helen Pascoe (Buninyong Golf Club)

2. Heather Harley (Kooringal Golf Club)

3. Cheryl Disher (Rossdale Golf Club)

*Victorian Senior Women’s Stableford Order of Merit:

1. Jen Le Cerf (Clifton Springs Golf Club)

2. Judith Fitzgerald (Commonwealth Golf Club)

3. Cheryl Disher (Rossdale Golf Club)

*Victorian Senior Men’s Scratch Order of Merit (Doug Bachli Trophy):

1. Kevin Naismith (Southern Golf Club)

2. James Lavender (Northern Golf Club)

3. Kevin Sims (Riversdale Golf Club)

*Victorian Senior Men’s Handicap Order of Merit (Paul Lulofs Trophy):

1. Keith Finkelde (Clifton Springs Golf Club)

2. Terry Thompson (Southern Golf Club)

3. Kevin Sims (Riversdale Golf Club)

For final results and more information, please click here.

Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions.

Related News

Golf Australia NEW LOGO White Mono_logo
Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions!