18 Mar 2020 | Amateur golf |

Vic Four-ball champions crowned

by Golf Australia

2020 Vic Four-ball mixed winners John Hoare & Tina Cowie
2020 Vic Four-ball mixed champions John Hoare & Tina Cowie

The Vic Four-Ball Champions have come to a close for 2020 as day two of the State Final wrapped up at The National Golf Club.

John Hoare and Tina Cowie teamed up to win the Mixed section, the pairing of Leeanne Ambrose and Sally McLean won the Women’s section and David Brebner & Darryn Oreo took out the Men’s section.

In the mixed event, Hoare and Cowie (Deep Creek GC) carded an impressive 44 points at Sorrento Golf Club to muster a two point lead on Sandhurst duo Yuni Kim and John Rucinski at the conclusion of round one.

Hoare and Cowie managed to hold on to their lead returning a score of 41 points on day two, finishing three shots ahead of Livi Lanu and Vanessa Elders (Rosebud CC), the round two daily winners. The winners were very excited after several near wins in previous years.

After trailing in fifth overnight, Lanu and Elders returned a score of 43 points on the challenging Moonah Course to finish in second place in a countback over Kim and Rucinski.

2020 Vic Four-ball women's winners_image

After trailing by one point after round one at Sorrento Golf Club in the women's event, Leanne Ambrose and Sally McLean returned a tournament best of 45 points to win the title with 87 points.

The Victoria Golf Club duo finished eight shots clear of overnight leaders Gwenlyn Pau (Yarra Yarra GC) & Xiang Li (Eastern GC) finishing on 79 points.

Tristen Wearne (Heathcote GC) & Stephanie Hester (Victoria GC) improved two spots on their overnight position to finish in third on 78 points.

2020 Vic Four-ball men's winners_image

Amongst a host of impressive scores at Sorrento on day one of the men's event, Brebner & Oreo (Melbourne Airport) managed to top the field with 49 points.

The pair held their nerve to finish two shots clear and claim the title.

“It would have been disappointing to lose it after that score on day one,” the duo said as they accepted the trophy.

Timothy Fishlock & Lachlan Macnee (Neangar Park) finished in second place with steady scores of 46-43 whilst Damian Drake (Deep Creek GC) & Dean Maas (Lang lang GC) took out third place on 88 points.

Full Leaderboard

Photo Gallery

Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions.

Related News

Golf Australia NEW LOGO White Mono_logo
Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions!