23 Jan 2020 | Industry news | Professional golf |

Scott honoured by US golf writers

by Mark Hayes

Adam Scott_image
Adam Scott is honoured to receive the prestigious award. Picture: Getty

Australian Adam Scott has been honoured for his commitment to helping media tell the story of golf.

The Golf Writers Association of America today announced that Mike Whan, Patrick Cantlay and Scott as winners of three of its most prestigious awards.

The Queenslander, whose 13 US PGA Tour titles include the 2013 Masters, was honoured with the Jim Murray Award for reflecting the most positive aspects of the working relationship between athletes and journalists.

"As athletes and writers, we do different jobs, but we all love the game of golf and its values," Scott said.

"To be included in a group with Ben Crenshaw, Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Geoff Ogilvy and so many others who make this such a special honour ... I look forward to thanking the GWAA in person at the dinner."

Whan, the commissioner regarded as having rebuilt the LPGA Tour since taking its top post in 2010, won the William D. Richardson Award for outstanding contributions to the sport.

Cantlay, who has overcome a stress fracture that nearly derailed his career to win two US PGA Tour titles and rise to No.7 in the world rankings, won the Ben Hogan Award for excellence in overcoming a physical handicap or serious injury.

Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions.

Related News

Golf Australia NEW LOGO White Mono_logo
Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions!