Boards & Constitutions

Please find below information regarding boards, nominations committees, constitutions and by-laws.

Andrew Newbold (Chairman) was elected as Chairman of Golf Australia in August 2019. Andrew is a lawyer by profession, and is regarded as one of the most progressive sports administrators in Australia. A keen golfer and entrepreneur, he is also a board member and chairman of several other companies, a commissioner with the Australian Football League and former Hawthorn Football Club president and life member.

Richard Allen was elected to the board in November 2017. Richard spent more than 20 years as a journalist, principally with BRW magazine and Channel Nine, and currently operates a communications consultancy. He has an extensive background in golf, including serving as the captain of Royal Melbourne Golf Club, authoring a golf book and writing hundreds of articles on the game for a variety of publications.

Sarah Chia was elected to the board in November 2017. Sarah is a Director at Kain Lawyers, working predominantly in private mergers and acquisitions and was a board member of Golf SA from 2015 from 2015 until her election.

Jeannene O’Day was elected to the board in December 2018. Jeannene has more than 25 years’ domestic and international experience in the financial services sector across investment banking, equity markets and funds management. She has also been actively involved on boards, organisations and media dedicated to women’s and community issues.

John Robinson was elected to the board in December 2018. John, a former chair of Golf NSW, is well known to many in the golf community for his work as a national referee He is a semi-retired IT specialist and business owner, having previously been an IT data communications manager for Westpac and a director and chairman of several companies.

Wendy Machin was appointed to the board in September 2019. Wendy is an experienced non-executive Director and former politician. She is currently the Chair and Director of Reflections Holiday Parks and Heritage Bank. Wendy has served on a number of other Boards over the last 20 years. This includes the Australian Automotive Association, Destination NSW, National Occupational Licensing Authority and an advisory committee for the ANZ (Olympic) Stadium in Sydney and NSW Forestry Corporation. Wendy was the first woman National Party MP in the NSW Legislative Assembly. Between 1985 and 1996 she served as a Cabinet Minister, Shadow Minister and as Deputy Speaker of the House.

John Davies was elected to the board in November 2019. John was a partner at Ernst & Young for 25 years until 2011. In 1992, he established EYs Sports, Events & Venues Group to provide financial and governance advice to leading sporting organisations. He was chair of Cricket Australia’s Audit & Risk Committee from 2012 to October 2019; a member of Cycling Australia’s Audit Committee from 2012 to 2015 and has been a member of Golf Australia Limited Risk & Audit committee since 2014. He is a director of Australian Vintage Ltd and has commercial viticultural interests.

Kelly Reynolds was appointed to the board in May 2022.  Kelly is an award-winning entrepreneur and senior executive with 25 years international experience leading Fortune 150 global, multi-national and mid-cap professional services, human capital, and technology consulting businesses. In Kelly’s strategic board advisory capacity, she fuses deep expertise in capital markets, corporate governance, risk, transformation and ESG with broad knowledge in equity, inclusion, and ethical business practices to develop sustainable business strategy and lead change. Kelly is an active member of the United Nations Sustainable Development Group, Mentor Walks, Minerva Network and Pride in Sport.

David Brett was elected to the board in November 2022. David Brett is an experienced senior banking executive with NAB who has worked across QLD, NSW and the NT.  Presently as Head of Corporate and Institutional Queensland (State General Manager,) he is a highly networked strategist responsible for a range of sensitive portfolios in the Division.  Highly respected in both Australian and Queensland golf, David was appointed to the Golf Queensland board in 2012 and was elected chair in November 2016. He held this position until August 2022 prior to standing for the GA Board.   

Related information:

Golf Australia has in place a Nominations Committee, which is in line with the Australian Sports Commission's mandatory governance principles for National Sporting Organisations.

The Nominations Committee is designed to undertake a range of important roles within the governance of Australian golf including: developing a skills matrix and best fit for Golf Australia directors; providing guidance to State Member Associations about potential candidates going up for election; helping to identify potential appointed directors; and providing guidance to the Golf Australia Chairman and Board regarding potential appointed directors.

GA Nominations Committee comprise of:

  • Kevin Chandler (Chairman)

  • Andrew Newbold (GA Chairman)

  • Kelly Reynolds (Current Golf Australia Director)

  • Greg Higham (State Representative)

  • Georgette Chilcott (State Representative)

Golf Australia is very appreciative of the expertise, knowledge and time being contributed by the members of the Nominations Committee and believes the committee will play a very positive role in the ongoing regeneration of the Golf Australia Board.

Click here to view the Nominations committee charter

Peter Wright (Chair) Kate Buckland Esther Rika Scott Trembath Sam Wright

Related information:

Peter Reeves (Chair) Matt Toomey  Judy Logan  Brooke O'Keeffe  Patrick Twomey Michele Stanley Cathy Connellan

Related information:

Rod Phillips (Chair) Rob Benger Zoee Dolling Kathryn Needs Anna Standish John Thomas John Zantvoort

Related information:

Georgette Chilcott (Chair) Alison Sully Bev Holman Fleur King John Milbourne Mark Ashton Stuart McGrath-Kerr

Related information:

David Shilbury (Chair) Ross Anderson Nikki McClure Nadina Light Cindy McLeish Josh Hall Lindsay Holloway Alisha Min Tony Kelly

Related information:

To contact the Golf Victoria Board please email David Stein (Company Secretary); or address correspondence to Australian Golf Centre, Sandringham Golf Links, Cheltenham Road, Cheltenham VIC 3192.

Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions!

Golf Australia Logo
Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions!