15 Jan 2020 | National Championships |

#AusAm: Aussies surge, Toy takes medal

by Golf Australia

Emily Toy
England's Emily Toy has won the Australian Amateur Stroke Play medal.


- By Justin Falconer

The cream rose to the top on Wednesday in Brisbane as England’s Emily Toy sealed the women’s Australian Amateur stroke play title.

The reigning British Amateur champion backed up yesterday’s blistering 65 with a 1-under 71 as the women’s field moved to Royal Queensland Golf Club, enough to secure the no.1 seed heading into the match play phase.

“I was pretty steady today which was nice. It was just getting the job done in terms of qualification purposes but winning the stroke play is great,” said Toy.

“Here at Royal Queensland is probably more like being at home, it’s more open, linksy style golf course.”

Toy finished one clear of Doey Choi, the NSW star finishing at 5-under to join Korean World No.64 Min A Yoon on the stroke play podium.

“I quite liked it out there today and I feel quite comfortable around the greens,” Choi said.

“I just really like match play, usually I just go out there and play my own game and it works.”

A host of Australia’s brightest talents follow thereafter as the match play stage looms, with Choi’s NSW teammate Grace Kim and South Australian Ella Adams two shots further back after matching rounds of 68-72.

In more good news for the locals, Queenslanders Kirsty Hodgkins and Lion Higo finished at 2-under through 36 holes alongside WA young gun Kirsten Rudgeley.

Pre-tournament favourite Cassie Porter finished inside the top 10 at 1-under, joined at that mark by the Gold Coast’s Hyejun Park and Korea’s Minju Kim.

Twenty-one of the 30 women to have already played their way into the first round of matchplay are Australians.

Also progressing after 36 holes of stroke play are 2019 state representatives Kathryn Norris, Steph Kyriacou, Maddison Hinson-Tolchard, Sarah Wilson, Kono Matsumoto Kelsey Bennet and Charley Jacobs.

First seed Toy and second seed Choi won’t know their first round opponents until after Thursday morning’s three-for-two playoff between Victorian State Team member Alex Hilliard, Kiwi Darae Chung and Indonesia’s Ida Ayu Indira Melati Putri.


Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions.

Related News

Golf Australia NEW LOGO White Mono_logo
Join our newsletter

Get weekly updates on news, golf tips and access to partner promotions!