Golf Australia

Ivo Whitton Trophy (Men's Rankings)

The Ivo Whitton Trophy is named after the great Victorian amateur, Ivo Whitton who won 5 Australian Open Championships (1912, 1913, 1926, 1929 and 1931); 2 Australian Amateur Championships (1922 and 1923) and 5 Victorian Amateur Championships (1919, 1920, 1922, 1923 and 1924). 

The VGA introduced the Ivo Whitton Trophy in 1960 for the lowest average stroke score in designated tournaments held each year. The inaugural winner was Kevin Hartley with an average of 72.72 from 32 rounds. Hartley went on to take the trophy 12 times out of the first 18 years of the competition. 

The trophy has lived up to all expectations with the honour roll reflecting a who’s who of Victorian Golf including Michael Clayton (1978 and 1980); Peter Sweeney (1981); John Lindsay (1984); Brad Hughes (1987); Robert Allenby (1990 and 1991); Stephen Allan (1994) and Geoff Ogilvy (1995 and 1997). 

Honour Roll

2018 Conditions

Current Standings - Use scroll bar located in top right corner to view full list


2017 Ivo Whitton Champion: Kyle Michel


2017 Ivo Whitton Rankings  - (Final Results)

The winners of the State Rankings trophies have been announced, with Kyle Michel (Shepparton GC) etching his name on the Ivo Whitton trophy for the third consectuive year and Victoria Golf Club's Kono Matsumoto claiming her maiden Susie Tolhurst trophy victory. The Ivo Whitton Trophy is awarded to the male player with the lowest stroke scoring average from sanctioned events on the Golf Victoria rankings calendar and named after one of the greatest Victorian men’s amateur players.

Kyle Michel finished the 2017 season with a scoring average of 68.33 from his 18 counting rounds, with a very fine margin separating him from Metropolitan’s Lukas Michel who finished runner-up with an average of 68.75. Kyle claimed 2 victories across the calendar at the Mooroopna Masters in February and the Boroondara Cup in March.

Golf Victoria High Performance Manager Ashley Marshall said that “consistency is the hallmark of Kyle’s game, so it is no surprise he was able to win the Ivo Whitton Trophy for a third consecutive year." 

12 December 2018
Two new golfing stars were crowned when 16-year-old Maddison Hinson-Tolchard and Andre Lautee joined the storied winner’s list of the Victorian ... Read more
12 December 2018
The 36-hole final of the Victorian Amateur is under way at Huntingdale Golf Club. Read more
Inside The Ropes
12 December 2018
MELVILLE GLADES: Women Stableford: K Myung 41pts cb M O'Brien 41. Good Scores: A Mather C Van Der Walt 40 S Shin 39 L Brotchie J Collings J Bonser 35 ... more
12 December 2018
KOOYONGA: 4B: Front 9: H Greenslade J Morton L Lawrence 25, A Mackenzie B Clapp J Thompson A Brown 24, J Hunter M Higgins M Gregg C Flynn 24, J ... more
Golf Australia