Golf Australia

Wooster & Wilson impress at Mid-Am

2017 Vic Mid Am Champions
2017 Champions Sue Wooster & Greg Wilson

Sue Wooster (The National) has claimed her third straight Victorian Mid-Amateur title, while Greg Wilson (Cerberus) claims the Men’s title in a tightly contested Championship.

Wooster fired a second round even par (74) today at The National (Long Island) to finish on a 36 hole total of +2 (148). Back-to-back birdies on 6 & 7 set up her consistent round. Wooster has now made it three in a row after wins in 2015 & 2016. Unfortunately, Sue’s Mid-Amateur time now runs out, but is looking forward to competing at the Senior level. Runner Up to Sue was Kew member Narelle Anderson who carded a solid second round +3 (77). Anderson was fourteen shots back.

Greg Wilson carded the best round of the championship carding -5 (67) today at The National (Long Island). Wilson, who was narrowly defeated in 2016, shone in his second round which consisted of  four birdies and an eagle on the par 5 13th.  

“You don’t do much wrong when you shoot 67” Wilson mentioned post round.

Wilson’s 36 hole total of -6 (138) was five better than three players locked at -1 (143). Eventual Runner Up was Adam Riley (Settlers Run) who also made the best of today’s weather with a round of 68.

The men’s B division nett championship saw two members of both host clubs use their knowledge to their advantage finishing in the top two positions. Runner-up was Cranbourne’s Jason Longland with a two round nett total of 145. Taking out the nett event was The National’s Stephen Glasby by three strokes with a solid two round nett total of 142.

In the B division gross championship, Devilbend’s Jake Cini played consistent golf throughout the event, recording two rounds of 77 for a total off 154 (+10) and a two-shot win. Ian Mills (Mornington) finished runner-up on 156 (+12).

The National & Cranbourne have been outstanding hosts for 2017, with both clubs courses in tremendous condition. Thanks are given to all involved.

Men's B Division Winners Mid-Am
L-R: Men's B Division Winners - Ian Mills, Jacob Cini, Stephen Grasby & Jason Longland

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia