Golf Australia

VIDEO: Ball change always allowed when taking relief (0.48min)


2019 Rule: Under Rule 14.3, when taking relief, the player will always be allowed the choice to substitute a ball or to use the original ball, including:

  • When taking penalty relief as well as when taking free relief (Rules 15-19).

 

Reasons for Change:

The requirement to use the original ball in some relief situations but not others is confusing, hard to remember and leads to unnecessary penalties. Taking a consistent approach that always allows a player taking relief the choice to substitute a ball or use the original ball is much simpler.  

There is no need for a different procedure based on whether the player is taking relief with penalty or without penalty.

This will also draw a clearer and more intuitive line between when substitution is allowed in returning a ball to play and when the original ball must be returned to play:

  • Substitution will be allowed only when a player is taking relief under any Rule – that is, when the player is required or allowed to play the next stroke from somewhere other than where the original ball came to rest.
  • Substitution will not be allowed when a ball was lifted or moved, and the Rules require it to be replaced on its original spot – in that case, the original ball must still be used (unless it cannot be recovered with reasonable effort and in a few seconds).

Comments

Posted by Gary at
11/11/2018 06:33 PM
Under the new rules can you ground your club in a bunker or hazard

Post a new comment

17 September 2019
While critics bemoan wide courses as "too easy", MIKE CLAYTON argues that it opens up so many more pleasing aspects of golf, whether aesthetic and ... Read more
29 May 2019
15 May 2019
30 April 2019
19 April 2019
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia