Golf Australia

Spring Park host a bumper field of Rookies

2017 Rookie Series Spring Park

A massive contingent of 52 players teed off this afternoon in sunny and calm conditions in the Stuart Appleby Rookie Series event. Today marked the first time the series had made its way to Spring Park, a course well known for being home to one of Melbourne’s best 9-hole layouts.

There were some brilliant scores returned for the day but none better than young gun Aryan Sharma with his round of 34 to capture the under 12 boys gross title. Luke Keenan walked away with the handicap prize after managing his way around the tight tree lined layout for a stellar 26 nett.

After securing victory at Eastern in April, Portia Hall captured yet another win in the under 12 girls gross with a score of 47. Meanwhile Billy Tate was too good in nett section following a round of 30.

Imogen Jones signed off for a round of 38 in the under 16 girls trophy for top spot and also cemented her place in the Rookie Series final. Sophie Miles was consistent today when she carded a round of 29 nett for first place in the handicap sector.

It was a solid permeance from Flynn Roelink in the under 16 boys with a score of 38 this afternoon to edge out Roi Lawrence Fortinez by a mere shot. Harrison Muller etched his name on the handicap prize with an effortless score of 25 – the lowest for the day!

Phoenix Diaz was too strong in the under 9 boys category with a fine round of 43 for top honours. Caiden Xing carded the best nett score in the under 9’s, compiling a round of 29 from his 19 handicap. Meanwhile a tally of 45 saw Sydney Bayerle also join the winners on the podium in the under 9 girls bracket.   

The next Rookie Series event will be played at Northern Golf Club on Monday July 10. Places are limited so be sure to book in to avoid disappointment.

Click here for the final results.   

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia