Golf Australia

Rookies start with a bang!

2017 Rookie Series Yarra Bend

Yarra Bend was host to to the first Stuart Appleby Rookie Series event for the year. A bumper field of 45 eager junior golfers were out in force when the crisp morning lifted to reveal a perfect autumn’s day.

Ben Powell blitzed the under 12 boys field to return a phenomenal round of 31 off the stick – or four under-par. Lenny Saville carded todays lowest nett score with an impressive round of 19 from his 24 handicap.

Phoenix Diaz also had a day to remember when the eight year-old signed for 38 to take out the under 9 boys stroke section. Anton Kovacevic was victorious in the nett component with 24 over the back nine this morning.

Morten Hafkamp also chimed into the winners circle in the under 16 boys with his round of 39 for the gross title.

In the under 12 girls Louise Baliton walked home with top honours with a score of 39 while Hannah Wong was the best in the handicap section after a score of 23. Hannah also managed her first ever eagle on the par 5 13th after hitting a perfectly struck third shot from the fairway into the hole! 

Katya Adkin booked herself a place in the under 16 girls Rookie Series final today with a round of 44 while Sophie Miles took home the handicap section with 32.

Sophie Mann also joined the girls on the podium after capturing the under 9 division with a tally of 42. Sydney Bayerle was the best in the nett after a score of 31 this morning. 

The next Rookie Series event will take place at Eastern Golf Club on Thursday 13 April – be quick not to miss out!

Click here for the final results.    

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia