Golf Australia

Pickwick claims fourth par-3 title

2017 Winners
2017 Women's Par-3 Champions

Kilmore’s Jess Pickwick has been crowned the 2017 Victorian Women’s Par 3 Champion this afternoon claiming her fourth title. Early fog delayed the morning round by thirty minutes before the sun emerged for another fine winter’s day.

All ground staff at Kyabram Parkland GC are to be commended on presenting the course in the best condition of the tournaments history, setting the scene for great scoring in all three grades.

Pickwick sat in third place overnight after round one, before firing a final round 57 to reel in overnight leader Jo Flaherty (Commonwealth) by a single stroke. Flaherty finished with a final round 60 to narrowly miss forcing a playoff whilst fellow Commonwealth member Casey Wild finished in third place on 121.

The A-grade nett winner was Victoria’s Alex Kerr who finished with a final round nett score of 59 to edge overnight A-grade nett leader Prue Plowman (Barwon Heads) on a countback with a score of 121. 

The B-grade gross title went to Myrtleford’s Jan Roseby also on a countback from overnight leader Mary Walkinshaw. Roseby fired a final round of 65 to Walkinshaw’s 71 to make up six shots overnight & claim the B-grade title. Overnight nett leader Dot McGillivray (Heathcote) held her nerve to claim the B-grade nett title by one stroke from Shepparton’s Di Wood.

C-grade honours went to Mornington’s Jenny Brown by four strokes after finishing with a two-round total of 151 to win by four strokes. Hidden Valleys Glenda Eddy finished in second place on 155. The nett trophy went to Melton Valley’s Margaret Azzopardi who edged Brown on a countback for the nett title with a score of 105.

The committee members, volunteers and course staff of Kyabram Parkland are to be congratulated on the fantastic hospitality shown to all players and guests during the championship. The 2018 event will be held at Kyabram Parkland once again on June 6 & 7.

Attention now moves to the Victorian Men’s Par 3 Championship, kicking off with 36-holes on Saturday at Kyabram Parkland followed by the final round on Sunday morning

To view full results & photo gallery, click here.

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia