Golf Australia

Pascoe & O’Brien claim first win at Eureka

Eureka Winners
L-R Ian Llewellyn, Helen Pascoe, Jill Morrison, Bob Cooper & Ken O'Brien

Rossdale’s Ken O’Brien & Buninyong’s Helen Pascoe have claimed the first ever Eureka Men’s & Women’s Senior Amateur titles today at Buninyong GC.

A fine & mostly sunny morning ensured conditions which were conducive to good scoring for both the Men’s & Women’s field, with several players taking advantage by returning strong final rounds.

In the Men’s nett event, Ballarat’s Bob Cooper led from start to finish recording the best nett score of the two day’s during the final round, a fine nett 68 for a two round nett total of 140 streaking the field by four strokes. In second place was Commonwealth’s Graham Bone with 149 on a countback.

In the Men’s 65+ event, local Chris Tatt (Buninyong) took out the gross event with a two-round score of 151. Bellarine Lakes member Ian Llewellyn secured the 65+ nett title with a 36 hole nett score of 144.

In the men’s gross championship, Cobram-Barooga’s Ross Percy finished runner-up with a total of 153. It was Rossdale’s Ken O’Brien who stormed home with the tournaments best round of 73 to reel in Tatt & take home the 2016 Eureka Men’s Senior Amateur title.

In the Women’s nett championship, local Midlands member Jill Morrison took home the nett crown with 66 stableford points whilst fellow Midlands member Jude Marshall finished runner-up with 63 points.

In the Women’s gross championship, Yarrawonga’s Sue Dawes finished runner up on a total of 50 gross stableford points. The inaugural winner of the 2016 Women’s Eureka Senior Amateur was pre-tournament favourite & local Buninyong member Helen Pascoe, who fired a brilliant final round of two over par 34 gross stableford points for a two-round total of 66 points for a comfortable win.

A huge thank you to both host clubs Midlands & Buninyong for their assistance in a successful first edition of this event.       

The 2017 Eureka Senior Amateur will undergo a move within the senior calendar & will be played in April next year, to view full results of this year’s event, click here.  

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia