Golf Australia

Olsen & Langford: Surfcoast champions

2017 Surfcoast Winners
L-R: William Burnett, Kerry Scales, Judy Langford & Kym Olsen

The 86-strong field of senior golfers were treated to a near perfect morning for golf at Lonsdale today for the second and final round of the Surfcoast Senior Amateur. Both club’s layouts have been presented in supreme condition and should be commended on their excellent hospitality.

Overnight leader Kym Olsen (The National) completed a wire to wire victory today, returning  a one over par second round 69 for a 36-hole total of two over par 142 & a five shot win. Defending champion Robert Wallace (Midlands) put up a brave defence of his title finishing in outright second place with a 36-hole total of 147.

Olsen, the current Australian Senior Amateur champion, thanked both clubs in his acceptance speech & will look to continue his winning ways in 2017 after his first win of the calendar. In tied third place was Barwon Valley’s Ross McFarlane & Colac’s Greg Welsh.

In the nett section, local Sands member William Burnett ensured at least one trophy from this year’s event was to remain on the Bellarine Peninsula with a two-shot win returning a 36-hole nett total of 139. Glen Waverley’s Ken Bruton finished runner-up on 141 with Ignatius Duivenvoorden (Yarram) in third place with a score of 142 c/b.

Competing in her first women’s senior event, Wodonga’s Judy Langford survived a countback with overnight leader Kerrin Biddle (Thirteenth Beach) on 53 gross stableford points to take home this year’s women’s title. Langford was rewarded for consistent golf during both rounds ensuring the perfect start to her women’s senior amateur ‘career’.

Likewise, the women’s nett championship was also claimed by a player competing for the first time at senior level. Kerry Scales (Port Fairy) played outstanding golf over both rounds to finish with a brilliant two round total of 77 stableford points. 

The next event on the senior calendar is the Kooringal Senior Amateur Tue 14 - Wed 15 Feb, late entry information can be found via the tournament homepage.

To view championship leaderboards & final results, click here.

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia