Golf Australia

No penalty for accidental deflection

Ball in Motion Accidentally Deflected

2019 Rule: Under Rule 11.1, for all accidental deflections, including when the ball hits the player or opponent or their equipment or caddies:

  • There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies (with limited exceptions).
  • To address any concern that a player might deliberately position equipment to act as a backstop and potentially deflect his or her ball, there will be a penalty if the ball hits equipment that was positioned for that purpose (Rule 11.2a).


Reasons for Change:

Many objects, persons and animals are present on a golf course during play; it is inevitable that a ball in motion will sometimes hit them before coming to rest, and a player is generally required to accept the outcome (whether good or bad).

Just as there is no penalty in stroke play if one player (or his or her equipment or caddie) accidentally deflects another player’s ball, there is no need for a penalty when a player (or the player’s equipment or caddie) accidentally deflects his or her own ball.

  • The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player at least as often as it results in an advantage.

 

 

 


Comments

Posted by Ron Williams at
12/10/2018 05:42 PM
Can we please have an answer to these 5 comments,
Posted by Ron Ellis at
24/09/2018 07:42 PM
Does this mean that if, after making contact with the ball during a swing, and the club makes contact with the ball again on the follow through (aka a double hit), there is no penalty for the second touch
Posted by David Pollock at
29/08/2018 04:38 PM
Does this mean that if, after making contact with the ball during a swing, and the club makes contact with the ball again on the follow through (aka a double hit), there is no penalty for the second touch as this would be deemed to be a deflection off the players equipment?
Posted by Warwick Hornby at
29/08/2018 09:01 AM
Excellent rule change. Anyone placing bag to stop their ball will be completely obvious as it won’t be nearby or will be in an unusual spot. Russ, accidentally moving a ball on the green equals no penalty. See relevant video on this site.
Posted by Russ Bowker-Douglass at
27/07/2018 02:05 PM
What is the new rule regarding accidentally touching a ball while taking a practice swing too near your ball ? More importantly if on the green.
Posted by Colin Randall at
11/07/2018 07:33 PM
My concern is how can you be completely sure that a player placed their bag etc to stop the ball . This will cause confusion

Post a new comment

02 October 2018
This was supposed to be a great American team, but, aside from Justin Thomas, they barely turned up to the Ryder Cup. Read more
09 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
16 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia