Golf Australia

Merit in new rankings system

Minjee Lee
Minjee Lee represents Australia in 2014 when she led the Australian Amateur Ranking System.

The Australian Amateur Ranking System will soon be no more.

After 10 years, a new-look version known as the Australian Order of Merit (AOOM) will be launched in 2018.

The current system was implemented in 2008 when the R&A’s World Amateur Golf Ranking program was in its infancy.

But with the growth of the WAGR for elite golfers, Golf Australia’s rankings the AOOM system will help avoid confusion.

The AOOM will operate in the same way as the current system, whereby certain Australian events are granted Order of Merit status. Players are allocated points based on their finishing position in these events, and the amount of points are based on the strength of the field.

There are six categories of AOOM competitions – open-age men and women, junior boys and girls, and senior men and women.

Thousands of players have participated in the current system for the past 10 years with winners including Minjee Lee (2013 and 2014) and Cameron Smith in the juniors (2008 and 2009).

Golf Australia’s championships director Trevor Herden said: “The Australian Order of Merit provides players the opportunity to monitor their performance based on results from particular Australian events.

“The AOOM is primarily aimed at Australian-based golfers who contest Australian events. It encourages participation among low-handicapped golfers and allows them to monitor their own development and form.”

The AOOM is also used as an entry criterion for the Australian Amateur and Australian Junior Championships, while other major Australian event organisers will also use the AOOM for players to gain exemption.

While the AOOM will recognise the best performed player over the previous 12-month period, Golf Australia’s high performance program places greater emphasis on the R&A’s WAGR when selecting benchmark players, Australian teams and prioritising funding allocations.

The WAGR is more indicative of a player’s standing, as it considers events worldwide and compares players globally.

The 2017 winners will be announced following the 2017 season conclusion on 31 October, while the 2018 AOOM will start on 1 November.

Click here for further information.

It's #AusOpenGolf week! Head to for live scores news, video and more.

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
09 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
16 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia