Golf Australia

McCleary continues stellar season

Ian McCleary (pictured right) claimed his 4th victory of 2018

The final round of the 2018 Cobram Barooga Senior Amateur commenced in pleasant but overcast conditions. However, after 9 holes it became a contest of the last man standing as the temperature dropped and the rain arrived.

Ian McLeary (Kooringal GC) has added another trophy to his impressive 2018 collection after recording 3 consistent rounds of 77, 74 and 74 to claim victory by 2 strokes over Gordon Claney (Kingston Heath GC).

Heading into the final round, McLeary and Alan Bullas (Portsea GC) held a 1 shot lead over David Robb (Corowa GC) and defending champion Gordon Claney.

With 3 holes to play, Claney found himself with a 1 shot lead after a double bogey from McCleary on the 15th.   

However, McCleary shook off the stumble superbly and finished with par, birdie, par to secure his 4th victory in 2018.

McCleary now has a commanding lead in both the Doug Bachli and Paul Lulofs rankings and it will take a mighty effort to chase him down.

In other results, local members Doug Pocknee and John Scandrett took out the men’s nett and men’s stableford competitions respectively. Pocknee finished with an overall score of nett 219 off a daily handicap of 13 and Scandrett recorded a total of 106 stableford points off a daily handicap of 33.

Dianna Wolfe of Wodonga GC played 3 quality rounds of golf and claimed the women’s stableford prize with a total of 96 points off a daily handicap of 8.

The John McAllister Memorial Teams Trophy was taken out by the pleasantly surprised Patterson River team of Tony Hyde, Brian Gray and Kerry Boehm.

To view full results, please click here.

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia