Golf Australia

Frost and Langford too strong at Tocumwal

2018 Toc Winners
L-R: Ian Frost, Jennifer Foster & Kerry Boehm

Ian Frost (Indooroopilly) and Judy Langford (Wodonga) have been crowned the 2018 Tocumwal Senior champions. Frost, after recently moving to Queensland, made the trip down to play the event and it proved a worthy decision as he finished with 143 for the two rounds. Frost was two behind over night but a front nine of 34 saw him charge to the lead. Frost went on to birdie the next 4 holes before cruising to a 7 shot victory. Defending champion David Robb (Corowa) couldn’t repeat last year’s winning efforts but claimed the runner-up prize after shooting two consistent rounds of 74 and 76 for a 150 total.

The nett champion was Patterson River’s Kerry Boehm who fired rounds of 69 and 72 for a 141 total. Boehm is a fanatic Essendon supporter and claimed to take inspiration from his team’s win over West Coast last night. Robert London (Rosanna) was the runner-up and finished just one shot back with rounds of 70 and 72.

Judy Langford held onto her overnight lead to take out the women’s scratch stableford. The Wodonga member finished with 29 scratch points on day 2 to go with her 31 on day 1, giving her a 6 shot victory. Helen Pascoe (Bunniyong) was the runner-up after shooting scores of 25 and 29 points.  

The women’s stableford section saw Jennifer Foster (Heywood) take out the title with 74 for the two rounds. A 40 today from Foster made the journey from Heywood worthwhile and she was thrilled to find success in one of her first senior events. Closely behind Foster was Noelle Hartnett from Rossdale with her scores of 33 and 39 giving her a 72 total.

A huge thank you to everyone involved at Tocumwal Golf Club for all their help in the event. The course was presented in outstanding condition and the players were extremely complimentary.

Click here for full results and click here for photos.


Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia