Golf Australia

Four-Ball winners crowned at The National

Jane Rawlinson and Eils Tickell
Women's winners Jane Rawlinson and Eils Tickell.

A testing opening day was eclipsed by a demanding day two at The National Golf Club as the 2018 Victorian Four-Ball champions were crowned.

The leading ladies after day one managed to hold on at The National, Eils Tickell and Jane Rawlinson backing up their opening 45 points with 34 more on Tuesday to finish as women’s champions.

The duo’s five-point buffer over the field at the halfway mark proved enough, Peninsula-Kingswood GC’s Tickell and Rawlinson from Victoria GC finishing with 79 points.

With scores of 38 and 36, Debbie Fitzgerald and Angela Griffin locked down second amongst the women’s pairs.

Noel and Maree Fitzgerald
Noel and Maree Fitzgerald claim the mixed title at the 2018 Vic Four-Ball State Final.

Coleraine GC’s Maree and Noel Fitzgerald were worthy winners in the mixed section, their 45 points in the windy afternoon conditions at The National lifting them to the title by four points.

After qualifying in Horsham, the Fitzgeralds finished with 86 points over 36 holes, Biljana and John Krunic claiming runner-up honours with 82 points.

Dean and Blake Anderson
2018 Victorian Four-Ball men's champions Blake and Dean Anderson.

Father-son pair Dean and Blake Anderson didn’t need to replicate their day one effort of 48 points at Sorrento, the duo notching 47 on Tuesday at The National to claim the men’s title.

It was a family affair for the Andersons, with Blake’s three-week-old baby on hand as the silverware was handed over.

Halfway leaders Leigh Graham and Todd Matthews from Axedale fell agonisingly short after backing up Monday’s 50-point performance with 44 more on Tuesday, eventually finishing as runners-up one point adrift.

Golf Victoria would like to thank Bushnell Golf for their ongoing support throughout the 2018 Vic Four-Ball season. Details about entering for the 2019 competition will be released later this year.

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia