Golf Australia

Ball accidentally struck more than once during stroke

Ball Accidentally Struck More Than Once During a Stroke

2019 Rule: Under Rule 10.1a, if the player’s club accidentally hits the ball more than once during a single stroke:

  • There will be no penalty and the ball will be played as it lies.
     

Reasons for Change:

Where a double hit occurs as part of a single stroke and was not the intention of the player, it was felt unfair and unnecessary for the player to be penalized.

Just as there is no penalty if a player’s ball accidentally deflects off his or her body, equipment or caddie, there is no need for a penalty when a player accidentally strikes his or her own ball in making a stroke.

  • Accidental deflections are, by definition, an accident. 
  • The outcome in such cases is random and unpredictable, and it results in a disadvantage for the player as often as it results in an advantage.

Comments

Posted by john at
03/08/2018 04:14 PM
I have a playing partner who has the 'yips'..very often he hits the ball twice when putting..sometimes they go in other times not..will this be considered accidental??
Posted by John Carroll at
20/07/2018 05:47 PM
Thankyou. This has happened a number of times when I've been hitting out of a bunker.

Post a new comment

02 October 2018
This was supposed to be a great American team, but, aside from Justin Thomas, they barely turned up to the Ryder Cup. Read more
09 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
16 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia