Golf Australia

2016 Women's Captains & Presidents day

2016 Women's Winners
L-R: Catherine Carder, Mary Morgan, Shirley Roberts & Kay Jones

Fifty nine Victorian clubs were represented at the 2016 Golf Victoria Women’s Captains’ & Presidents’ Day held at Box Hill Golf Club for a day of golf, trophy presentations and information sharing on Women’s golf. Under clear morning skies with only a slight breeze surfacing as the day progressed, 112 players participated in the Canadian Foursomes Stableford competition around the well presented Box Hill layout.

Morwell's Catherine Carder & Mary Morgan were the winners on the day, with a fine score of 38 points to win comfortably by four points. Pakenham's Shirley Roberts & Kay Jones were the runners-up with 34 points.

Golf was followed by a presentation luncheon for both the morning event and trophies for The Mona MacLeod Brooch. The Brooch is a State-wide competition, first played for in 1961 and named in honour of one of Victoria’s greatest players, Miss Mona MacLeod. The 2016 winners were:

Silver Metropolitan Division: Margaret Blackmore (Eastwood) -5

Silver Country Division: Deb Nicholls (Inverleigh) -6

Bronze Metropolitan Division: Tori Curtis (Kew) -9

Bronze Country Division: Beverley Simpson (Bandiana Army) -9

GV Women’s Captains & Presidents Day is also a valuable opportunity for Golf Victoria to update Women’s representatives from clubs all around the state on a range of specific women’s and general golf matters.

Items presented by GV Vice President Sue Rea included an overview of the Golf Victoria website, Women’s event changes in 2017 to the Bronze Teams, Victorian Women’s Salver and Victorian Women’s Country Teams event. Whilst clarification on Golf Victoria’s communication process with clubs and districts and a general outline of GV services along with an update on the 2017 Oates Victorian Open was also presented.

To view full results from today's event along with today's presentation by Golf Victoria Vice President Sue Rea, click here.

2016 Mona Winners
L-R: Beverley Simpson, Margaret Blackmore & Deb Nicholls

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
01 August 2018
30 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia