Golf Australia

Kim, Micheluzzi top OOM winners

Grace Kim
Grace Kim has gone from strength to strength in the past 12 months, capped by her recent Youth Olympics gold medal.

Stunning seasons are the common denominator for the 2018 Golf Australia Order of Merit winners.

Sydney's Grace Kim took out the women’s OOM, while Melbourne's David Micheluzzi won the men’s after each produced outstanding results throughout the season.

Kim topped the women’s standings courtesy of wins at the Tasmanian Stroke Play and Tasmanian Amateur Championships, as well as five additional top-five placings in OOM events. Doey Choi, also of New South Wales, placed second, while Queenslander Becky Kay finished third for the second consecutive year.

Micheluzzi had an incredible year, winning the Australian Master of the Amateurs at Royal Melbourne and the Victorian Amateur, and securing a runner-up finish in the Australian Amateur and more recently the WA Open, both in Perth.

Courtesy of his win in the WA Open, fellow Victorian Zach Murray catapulted to second place, with Canberra's Josh Armstrong third.

As open-age events contribute to the girls’ OOM, Kim took those honours as well, with Australian Amateur champion Suzuka Yamaguchi, of Japan, second and Queensland's Isabelle Taylor third, just pipping Perth's Kirsten Rudgeley.

West Australian Connor McKinney won the boys’ OOM after finishing as medallist in the Australian Amateur and having two top-five finishes in the SA Junior Amateur and SA Junior Masters. Australian Boys’ Amateur champion Connor Fewkes, of Kalgoorlie, finished second, while Queenslander Lewis Hoath finished third with three OOM event wins.

Kim Burke, of NSW, won the women’s senior OOM for the second consecutive year after claiming three OOM titles. Burke edged out Helen Pascoe, of Victoria, while three-time winner Jacqui Morgan, of NSW, was third by the slightest of margins.

Victoria's Greg Rhodes took out the men’s senior OOM for the fourth consecutive year following five victories in OOM events, including the SA, Qld, WA and NT senior amateur crowns. The 2014 winner Gordon Claney, also of Victoria, finished second following his recent victory in the Australian Men’s Senior Amateur, with SA’s John Davey third.

The OOM attracted more than 3500 players from around Australia and the world, with the OOM continuing to provide vast interest for golfers of all ages and genders.

The GA Order of Merit encourages participation among low-handicapped golfers and allows them to monitor their own development and form.

The Australian Amateur Championship, as well as other prominent national golf championships, uses the OOM as an part of its entry criteria.

Each system is points-based and operates over a rolling 12-month period. All national championships and each state’s amateur championship in the respective systems count towards a player’s average, in addition to various other major events.

Players’ points are determined by their finishing positions in each event and the events themselves are weighted according to the field strength.



Women’s rankings:

  1. Grace Kim (NSW) 109.06
  2. Doey Choi (NSW) 105.18
  3. Rebecca Kay (Qld) 96.06


Men’s rankings:

  1. David Micheluzzi (Vic) 122.56
  2. Zach Murray ((Vic) 108.53
  3. Josh Armstrong (NSW) 107.29


Girls’ rankings:

  1. Grace Kim (NSW) 118.01
  2. Suzuka Yamaguchi (JPN) 108.11
  3. Isabelle Taylor (Qld) 105.33


Boys’ rankings:

  1. Connor McKinney (WA) 103.48
  2. Connor Fewkes (WA) 101.56
  3. Lewis Hoath (Qld) 86.41


Senior women’s rankings:

  1. Kim Burke (NSW) 196.50
  2. Helen Pascoe (Vic) 168.75
  3. Jacqui Morgan (NSW) 168.00


Senior men’s rankings:

  1. Greg Rhodes (Vic) 128.90
  2. Gordon Claney (Vic) 101.30
  3. John Davey (SA) 94.64


Click HERE for further information.

24 April 2019
State pride is on the line when the 2019 Australian Interstate Series heads to Tasmania next month. Read more
23 April 2019
On Episode 99, Brendan Jones joins the crew to discuss his 15th career victory on the Japanese tour amidst a tense battle in the studio for the ... Read more
Golf Australia