Golf Australia

Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur

28 - 30 November 2012

The Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Championship is conducted by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation. It is open to golfers 55 years and over and is contested over 54-holes stroke play. A six-man team event is played in conjunction (with the best four scores to count each round).

Visit the website of the host club - Discovery Bay Golf Club, Hong Kong


Visit the Hong Kong Golf Association for further news and results - Hong Kong Golf Association

In a weather shortened event that saw only one round of play completed, NSW's Denis Dale won the 2012 Asia-Pacific Senior Amateur Championship. Dale had opened with a score of 73 and this was to remain the final score for the championship. Runner up was New Zealander Frank Borren and Hong Kong's William Cheung.

Richard Greville (NSW) and Alan Bullas (Vic) were the next best Aussies with scores of 75 and 76 on the challenging Discovery Bay Jade and Diamond courses. The 2011 individual champion Peter King (Qld) returned a score of 77 while Stefan Albinski (NSW) and Roy Vandersluis (NSW) both had scores of 78.

Australia won the team event with a score of 301, to beat New Zealand by three strokes.

Final Individual Scores:
73 Denis Dale (Australia)
74 Frank Borren (NZ), William Chung (Hong Kong)
75 Arthur Parkin (NZ), Kun Pyo Hong (Korea)
75 Roddy Sage (HK), Richard Greville (Aust)
75 Herminio Marvaillia (Philippines), David Cherry (Aust)
76 Alan Bullas (Aust), Murray Martin (NZ)
77 Peter King (Aust)
78 Gongesh Khaitan (India), Stefan Albinski (Aust)
78 Roy Vandersluis (Aust), Luis Garcia (Philippines)
79 Michael Barltrop (NZ), Zainoldin Ahmad (Malaysia)
79 Chris McNamara (Aust)
80 Vijay Bhadana (India), Joe Pethes (HK),Andrew McKechnie (NZ)
84 Rodney Barltrop (NZ)

Australia 301 (Dale 73, Greville 75, Bullas 76, King 77)
New Zealand 304 (Borren 74, Parkin 75, Martin 76, M. Barltrop 79)

Player Information

Selection of Australian Team:
The selection of the six-man Australian Team will be made following the SA Senior Amateur from 17-19 September. The selection criteria is:

• Top four (4) players from the Australian Senior Ranking System as at time of selection
• Two (2) players at the discretion of GA

The two players selected at the discretion of GA will be required to meet the following criteria:
i. They must have played in the 2012 Australian Senior Amateur Championship (unless exceptional circumstances apply);
ii. They must have played in at least four (4) Australian Senior Ranking Events that have a weighting of 4 or more in the preceding 12-month period;
iii. They must be inside the top 25 of the Australian Senior Ranking System as at time of selection.

Player Forms:
< Championship Information
< Accommodation Booking Form
< Entry Form and Conditions
< Entry and Payment Form
< Form for Additional Function Tickets

For further information please contact Golf Australia on:
Phone: +61 3 9626 5050

22 July 2019
With little joy for the Aussies at The Open, #AussieOfTheWeek goes to Minjee Lee who, alongside Jin Young Ko, secured second place at the LPGA Tour’s ... Read more
22 July 2019
As the season for locking up playing cards arrives, three Australians made big strides in America today. Read more
Inside The Ropes
22 July 2019
SERPENTINE & DISTRICTS: Men Foursome c'ship: Gross: W Lipscombe V Kemp 126, B Murphy S Denman 129. Nett: K Gray G Byles 105.9, F Cox B McIntosh ... more
22 July 2019
KOOYONGA: Men Stableford: M Ormsby D Salamon 38 P Williams W Somerfield T Williams 36 F Vucic C Champion R Fielke 35 N Pyne S Van Der Vlies J Dally ... more
Golf Australia