Golf Australia

Glenelg to host 2019 Queen Sirikit Cup

Queen Sirikit Cup

One look at the world rankings will tell you the hotbed of elite women’s golf is in our back yard.

And next March, that will literally be true with Adelaide’s Glenelg Golf Club to host the 41st Queen Sirikit Cup.

Athletes from 14 countries across the Asia-Pacific will compete from 6-8 March in the event that is the women’s team championship for the region.

The powerhouse Korean team has remarkably won the 11 of the past 12 Queen Sirikit Cups, with Australia’s win – courtesy of Minjee Lee, Su Oh and Grace Lennon – in 2013 the exception.

But the emerging Thai team, along with Japan and the Philippines, pushed Korea all the way in Thailand this year, so a great contest is again expected.

The event rotates around the participating countries, with Australia having last been host at Royal Adelaide in 2006.

Throughout its history the event has been a breeding ground for future champions and just since 2005 that list has included world No.1s Yani Tseng, Lydia Ko and So Yeon Ryu, along with a host of LPGA Tour tournament winners.

Teams of three players contest 54 holes of stroke play, with the best two scores for each round counting as the team score with Australia coming out on top nine times since the event’s inception in 1979.

The championship is as much about promoting friendship and sportsmanship among the competitors, with sightseeing tours scheduled during the event week.

Glenelg Golf Club is no stranger to holding major events and has hosted the South Australian Open and PGA Championships, in addition to numerous state and national amateur events, including most recently the 2018 Australian Women’s Interstate Series.

The 5973m par-73 layout has gently undulating couch grass fairways, bent grass greens and revetted-edge style bunkering. While some holes have characteristics reminiscent of traditional Scottish links courses, Pine Hill, one of the highest points on the Adelaide Plains, is the course’s dominant feature with holes 8-13 weaving through tall, established pine trees.

The Queen Sirikit Cup is conducted by the Asia-Pacific Golf Confederation in conjunction with the host country and with financial support from the R&A.

Participating countries include Australia, China, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong-China, India, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Myanmar and Thailand.

Click here for more information:

Post a new comment

16 November 2018
Famously for those who care about the history of the local game, Bruce Devlin won the Australian Open in 1960 at Lake Karrinyup. Read more
09 July 2018
20 June 2018
22 May 2018
16 May 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia