Golf Australia

Trans Tasman Cup

7 - 9 March 2012

The Trans Tasman Cup is a combination of the previous Australia versus New Zealand match play contests conducted by Women's Golf Australia and the Australian Golf Union.

Played every two years, it is made up of four categories of four players each. The Boys' Category contest the Clare Higson Trophy, the Girls' Category contest the Junior Tasman Cup, the Open Men's Category contests the Sloan Morpeth Trophy, and the Open Women's Category contests the Tasman Cup. Each play foursomes and singles scratch match play over two rounds.

Visit the website of the host club - Peninsula Country Golf Club (North Course)

>Tuesday 6 March: Players Arrive
>Wednesday 7 March: Practice Round and Opening Ceremony
>Thursday 8 March: Round One - 8.15 am Foursomes Matches; 1.15 pm Singles Matches
>Friday 9 March: Round Two - 8.15 am Foursomes Matches; 1.15 pm Singles Matches; Presentation Dinner - 7.00 pm
>Saturday 10 March: Players Depart

> Download the Results Summary - Australia 34½ to New Zealand 13½
> Download the Girls' Results (Junior Tasman Cup) - Australia 10 defeated New Zealand 2
> Download the Boys' Results (Clare Higson Trophy) - Australia 9 defeated New Zealand 3
> Download the Men's Results (Sloan Morpeth Trophy) - New Zealand 6½ defeated Australia 5½
> Download the Women's Results (Tasman Cup) - Australia 10 defeated New Zealand 2


Photo Galleries Day 1
Photo Galleries Day 2

Australia completed a dominant display over two days to win the Trans Tasman Cup in emphatic fashion, defeating New Zealand 34.5 to 13.5 at Peninsula Country Golf Club in Melbourne.

Holding a 16.5 to 7.5 lead overnight, the Australians continued their impressive golf and nearly completed a clean sweep of the silverware but the New Zealanders fought back to win the Sloan Morpeth Trophy in the Open Men’s competition.

The Australian men trailed by 3 overnight but made ground on Friday morning, winning both foursomes matches.

But the Kiwis held on to win by one with singles wins to Mathew Perry over Ryan McCarthy 5&4 and Vaughn McCall who won 3&2 over Nathan Holman. Jake Higginbottom defeated Ben Campbell 4&3 and Cameron Smith beat Blair Riordan 1up.

The Australian women’s team claimed the Tasman Cup with an exceptional 10-2 victory.

The Kiwi women won one foursomes match but it was a clean sweep in the singles with Grace Lennon winning 5&4 over Emily Perry, Adriana Brent won 2&1 over Julianne Alvarez, Ashlee Dewhurst won 4&3 over Sarah Bradley and Breanna Elliott winning4&3 over Chantelle Cassidy.

In the Clare Higson Trophy, the Australian Boys’ team defeated New Zealand 9-3.

With solid wins in the morning foursomes, the Australian boys headed into the afternoon full of confidence but the Kiwis pegged two back. Ryan Chisnall defeated Lucas Herbert 3&2 and Compton Pikari beat Anthony Murdaca 3&2. Oliver Goss defeated Sam An 3&2 while Ruben Sondjaja won 5&4 against Tyler Hodge.

In the Junior Tasman Cup, Australia defeated New Zealand 10-2.

After winning both Foursomes matches comfortably, Jaimee Dougan defeated Catherine Bell 3&2 and Su Hyun Oh defeated Wenyung Keh 4&3.
Hannah Green and Fai Tongethri couldn’t be separated and halved their result as did Lauren Mason and Laura Hoskin.

Sloan Morpeth Trophy
New Zealand 6.5 defeated Australia 5.5

Tasman Cup
Australia 10 defeated New Zealand 2

Clare Higson Trophy
Australia 9 defeated New Zealand 3

Junior Tasman Cup
Australia 10 defeated New Zealand 2

24 April 2019
With invitations to two majors and Augusta National on the line, Becky Kay and Grace Kim know what it takes to get there Read more
24 April 2019
Jason Day and Adam Scott have confirmed what everyone suspected: that their pairing at the Zurich Classic of New Orleans at TPC Louisiana this week ... Read more
Inside The Ropes
24 April 2019
KOOYONGA: Stableford: A: A Ewer 36 P Oxenham K Egan 34. B: P Marshall C Walsh 36 C Smith 35. C: R Burgan R Cole K Kruys 34. Place Getters: H Moore S ... more
24 April 2019
WESTERN AUSTRALIAN: Stableford: D Cuzens B Rice 41 T Cawthorne R Edwards 38 A Housley J Caffell I Street S Jackson B Geddes 37 B Wilkinson A Gregory ... more
Golf Australia