Golf Australia

Men's & Women's Riversdale Cup

9 - 12 March 2017

The Men's Riversdale Cup is an Australian and R&A World Amateur Golf Ranking Event. It is the second oldest golf championship played in Australia, and was first played in 1896. Notable winners include Aaron Baddeley (1999), Robert Allenby (1990 and 1991), Kurt Barnes (2003) and Scott Arnold (2008).

The Women's Riversdale Cup is an Australian Ranking Event, R&A World Amateur Golf Ranking Event and also forms part of the Karrie Webb Series. It is for players of any age and is played over 72-holes stroke play.

The events are conducted by Riversdale Golf Club


Hunter Valley star Dylan Perry and the Gold Coast’s Karis Davidson have won the respective men’s and women’s titles at the famous Riversdale Cup tournament in Melbourne.

Perry, 22, was rock solid on the final day, closing with a four-under round of 68 after beginning with a one-shot lead, and bolting the door shut.

He put the exclamation mark on the victory with a delightful, downhill birdie putt at the par-four 18th hole that just trickled over the front edge of the hole.

Perry was 15-under through the four rounds. Another New South Welshman, previous winner Harrison Endycott, was his closest pursuer, also making birdie at the 72nd hole to finish outright second at 12-under, while Western Australia’s Minwoo Lee made a flying finish to finish outright third at 11-under, closing with a 65 and a back nine of 30.

The New South Welshman has previously won the Victorian and Queensland amateur titles, but he had no hesitation putting the storied Riversdale event at the top of the pile. "I'm going to say 'yes','' he said.

Perry took a pragmatic attitude into the final round, promising to play shot-by-shot. "I said to my caddie 'don't worry about it, we'll just play'. All the guys were saying as I went through the last few holes were saying 'well played this week' so I asked the guys the scores. They said I was three or four up at the time. I heard Minwoo was playing well, a couple of guys playing well, but I was trying to play how I play and see what happens.''

Davidson had to overcome a catastrophic triple-bogey six at the very first hole of her round today, finding the green at the par-three but then putting her ball right off the green, then chunking her first chip back up the slope.

At that point the Queenslander was six shots behind the overnight leader, Gabi Ruffels of Victoria, but she slowly reeled the inexperienced Melburnian in, rolling in four consecutive birdies on the front nine.

By the time they reached the eighth hole Davidson had the lead, and while Ruffels moved back into a tie at the top her putter let her down; she had five three-putts for the day including three of the last four holes.

Davidson closed with a 70, three-under for the day, and iced it with a birdie from just beyond three metres at the last. She had lost the outright lead with a three-putt at the 17th, and needed that birdie at the 72nd hole to overtake Japan’s Ayaka Furue, who had posted a one-under total.

But she is a tough competitor, and the 18-year-old Davidson rolled her downhill slider in the side of the cup to win. "This was one of my goals this year to win this tournament, because I really love playing in it,'' she said later. "All the players are well looked-after and I enjoy the course as well.''

Furue was outright second and was the only other player in the women’s field to break par over the four days, while 16-year-old Ruffels, who had begun with a three-shot lead, posted a 75 to fade into third.

Player Information

For further information, please contact Riversdale Golf Club on:

Phone: +61 3 9807 1700

22 February 2018
A stunning closing eagle has given Minjee Lee a share of the lead at the LPGA Tour event in Thailand. Read more
22 February 2018
Thailand’s Atthaya Thitikul maintained a share of the Women’s Amateur Asia Pacific Championship lead today, but a familiar pack is now firmly on the ... Read more
Inside The Ropes
22 February 2018
ALEXANDRA: Women: Par: B Doyle (17) 4 up. more
22 February 2018
AVALON: Women: Stableford: R Waring (28) 40 cb. Hole in one: R Waring at 3rd. more
Golf Australia