Golf Australia

Australian Men's Senior Amateur

29 Sep - 1 October 2015

Click here to view Championship History, Honour Roll and Past Results

The Australian Men's Senior Amateur Championship is open to players aged 55 years and over and is contested over 54-holes stroke play. It is an Australian Men's Senior Ranking Event.

The first Australian Men’s Senior Amateur Championship was played in 1981, over 36-holes qualifying with the leading 32 players qualifying for elimination match play. From 2004 onwards, the event has been contested over 54-holes stroke play.

Visit the website of the Host Club - Manly Golf Club, NSW


It probably wasn’t the way Greg Rhodes imagined it, but all that matters is that he’s the Senior Australian Amateur champion.

The popular Coomealla golfer took a seemingly comfortable three-shot lead into the final round at Manly Golf Club today.

But without a birdie on his card as the wind lifted a gear from the opening two rounds, Rhodes faced a series of challenges before winning the national title for the first time.

Rhodes, a prolific winner around the Sunraysia district, fired a 79 to finish four over and cling to victory by a shot from hard-charging Sydneysider Mark Pearson (73).

Perth’s Trevor Hughes was another whose final-round 78 wasn’t exactly as planned, but he finished third a further shot back.

Penrith’s David Limbach fired a fine even-par 71 to vault into the mix, but ran out of time and finished T4 with outgoing champion Gordon Claney (78) at eight over.

And the biggest charge of a rollercoaster final round came from three-time former champ Stefan Albinski who shot the only sub-par round of the day with a 70 to highlight four in a tie for sixth at nine over, including Steve Toyne (75), Ian Frost (76) and Peter Hannah (79).

Capping a great week for Rhodes was that he piloted Victoria home in the concurrent interstate teams stroke event.

Rhodes’ Victorian team, into which he was a late inclusion when Barry Tippett withdrew, shone to fire 660 (best three rounds of four counted per day), with Frost, Claney and Guy Krall the other members of the winning team.

Western Australia was second with a total of 675.

Next year’s event will be held at Kooyonga in Adelaide from October 11-13.

Final Results

Interstate Stroke Teams Final Results

Player Information

Download the FINAL Draw for Rounds 1 & 2
(Updated 8.00am Tues 29th)

Download the FINAL Draw for Round 3

Entry Details:
Entries for the Australian Men's Senior Amateur Championship are now CLOSED. Late entries will NOT be accepted.
Online Entry Fee: $160.00 on-line (includes practice round, Presentation Function, Championship Gift and Championship Program)
Handicap Limit: Maximum GA handicap 8.4
Entries Close: 5.00 pm (AEST) Tuesday, 25 August 2015

> Download the entry form to view the Conditions of Play
> View the list of entries received.

Sunday 27 September: Official practice round
Monday 28 September: Official practice round & registration
Tuesday 29 September: Round 1
Wednesday 30 September: Round 2
Thursday 1 October: Round 3 (seeded draw) & Presentation Reception (at conclusion of play)

Competitor Information:
Download important competitor information such as catering, functions, carts, practice rounds, etc.

Course Length:
Download the maximum course length and teeing grounds to be used during the Championship

Download accommodation options

Player Services:
Download local services including physiotherapy, dental and shopping centres etc.

Practice Rounds:
A complimentary practice round is available on Sunday 27 September between 12.15 pm - 2.00 pm or Monday 28 September between 10.00 am – 3.30 pm. Players are entitled to ONE practice round only and MUST book a time with the pro shop on 02 9907 9553

Practice rounds may be available outside the official practice times at the clubs discretion for players who have entered the championship. Greens fees are $77.00 and bookings can be made by contacting the pro shop.

Competitors are required to register between 10.00 am and 3.30 pm on Monday 28 September at Manly Golf Club. At this time, competitors will be required to provide a phone number where they can be contacted during the event. Failure to register may result in disqualification from the Championship. If it is impossible to register in person, competitors must contact the Championship Office on registration day on 0448 742 132.

Competitors are not required to register each day. Players are requested to report to the Starter approximately no less than 5 minutes prior to the advertised starting time. Score cards, Local Rules and hole placement sheets will be distributed by the Starter on the starting tee.

Distance Measuring Devices:
The following Local Rule will be in effect for the Championship:

In this competition a player may obtain distance information by using a device that measures distance only. If, during a stipulated round, a player uses a distance-measuring device that is designed to gauge or measure other conditions that might affect their play (eg gradient, windspeed, temperature, etc), the player is in breach of Rule 14-3, for which the penalty is disqualification, regardless of whether any such additional function is actually used.

Motorised Carts:
Players are permitted to use Motorised Transport on the production of a Medical Certificate. The Medical Certificate must be received by Golf Australia prior to the event. Players requiring a motorised cart MUST book with Golf Australia on 03 9626 5050 or email by 25 August. Carts are $45 per round however if a player wishes to share this may be arranged.

For further information please contact Golf Australia:
Phone: +61 3 9626 5000

26 April 2018
New South Wales professional Brendan Barnes has been named the Special Olympics Australia coach of the year. Read more
26 April 2018
Papua New Guinea amateur Brian Taikiri has had the round of his career to share the first-round lead of his hometown PNG Open at Royal Port Moresby ... Read more
Inside The Ropes
26 April 2018
APOLLO BAY: Men: Stableford: A: D O'Meara (15) 38. B: D Hall (34) 37. more
26 April 2018
ANTILL PARK: Mxd: Stroke Ambrose: White: J Langston G Langston 60.25. K Shepherd S Kennedy 64. more
Golf Australia