Golf Australia

Australian Amateur: Quarter Finalists set in Adelaide

Zach Murray
Zach Murray defeated Ryan Ruffels

Australian Men's Amateur Championship Round 2&3 Match Play

The final eight players to compete for the Australian Men's Amateur Championship have been decided.

Two Victorians, two New Zealanders, two Americans, a Western Australian, a South Australian and a New South Welshman have all booked their places in the quarter finals.

Zach Murray overcame Ryan Ruffels 3&2 in an all-Victorian third round match while Cameron Davis (NSW) defeated Taylor MacDonald (QLD) 2&1 to progress to the quarters.

Curtis Luck (WA) beat last year's runner-up Geoff Drakeford (VIC) 1up while Americans Max Buckley and Daniel Snyder accounted for Grant Booth (NSW) and Blair Riordan (NZL) respectively.

Local favourite and Grange Golf Club member Anthony Murdaca (SA) flew the home town flag into the quarter finals while Victorian Todd Sinnott and New Zealander Tae Koh also won through to the final eight.

Zach Murray (VIC) v Todd Sinnott (VIC)
David Snyder (USA) v Curtis Luck (WA)
Max Buckley (USA) v Tae Koh (NZL)
Cameron Davis (NSW) v Anthony Murdaca (SA)

The quarter finals and semi finals are held on Saturday before the 36 hole final which takes place on Sunday.

RESULTS AND DRAW - Australian Men's Amateur Championship

Australian Women's Amateur Championship Round 2 Match Play

Defending champion Minjee Lee (WA) stormed into the quarter finals with another dominant performance, defeating Hannah Green (WA) 5&4.

Lee will now face fellow Western Australian and Oklahoma State college player Jayde Panos who defeated Celina Yuan (NSW) 3&2 to book her quarter finals spot.

Spain's Luna Sobron, who was runner-up at the Women's British Amateur in 2013, continued her impressive form with a 3&2 win over Ellen-Davies Graham (QLD). Sobron will now play Shelly Shin (NSW) who defeated Cassidy Evreniadis (SA) 1up.

Victorian Su-Hyun Oh and 2013 runner-up Jenny Lee (SA) will face off in the other quarter final while Chantelle Cassidy (NZL) will play Karis Davidson (QLD). Davidson beat Alyssa Keir (WA) 3&2 in the second round.

Chantelle Cassidy (NZL) v Karis Davidson (QLD)
Su-Hyun Oh (VIC) v Jenny Lee (SA)
Minjee Lee (WA) v Jayde Panos (WA)
Luna Sobron (ESP) v Shelly Shin (NSW)

RESULTS AND DRAW - Australian Women's Amateur Championship

Entry is free for spectators. The 36 hole men's and women's finals take place on Sunday 19 January.

20 February 2017
17 February 2017
Australian Junior Championships
Golf Australia