Golf Australia
News & Video

Final Round: Aussies finish 15th in Turkey

Cameron Smith
Cameron Smith led the individual standings.

The Australian men’s team of Daniel Nisbet (QLD), Cameron Smith (QLD) and Matthew Stieger (NSW) finished in 15th place at the weather-shortened Eisenhower Trophy at the World Amateur Team Championships in Antalya, Turkey.

The Australians posted their best round of the championship with a team score of 6-under par with all three players firing rounds of 3-under par 68 at Antalya Golf Club’s Sultan Course. The round left Australia in outright 15th place at 5-under par for the championship.

Smith was the leading Australian on the individual leaderboard in a tie for 13th at 5-under par. Mexican Sebastian Vazquez won the individual section at 15-under par after the three rounds.

The United States claimed their 14th Eisenhower Trophy with a record-setting 54 hole score of 24-under-par 404, winning by 5 strokes from Mexico in second and Korea, Germany and France tied in third.

The Australian men’s team last won the Eisenhower Trophy in 1996 in a team that included Jamie Crow, David Gleeson, Jarrod Moseley and Brett Partridge.

Each team has two or three players and plays 72 holes of stroke play over four days. In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day (72-hole) total is the team’s score for the championship.

The 2014 World Amateur Team Championships will be played in Japan.

October is Golf Month. Share the golf bug to win the ultimate golf bug adventure to Barnbougle, Cape Wickham and Ocean Dunes courtesy of Air Adventure Golf Tours. Head to for more details.

Post a new comment

16 October 2017
Plenty of people remember Peter Senior's triumph over weather and the youngsters to claim his second Emirates Australian Open title in 2012. Read more
05 September 2017
01 September 2017
29 August 2017
29 August 2017
26 August 2017
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia