Golf Australia
News & Video

McDade wins Teacher of the Year award

Denis McDade
Teacher of the Year Denis McDade. Photo: Golf Victoria Magazine

Renowned Victorian PGA Professional Denis McDade has been named the PGA of Australia’s 2012 Teacher of the Year.

McDade coaches a number of leading Tour professionals including 2012 Travelers Champion Marc Leishman, Marcus Fraser, last weekend’s OneAsia winner Matt Griffin, Paul Sheehan, Ashley Hall, Gareth Paddison and Clint Rice.

He also coaches 2011 British Amateur Champion and Golf Australia Rookie Squad member Bryden Macpherson, the first Australian to win the championship since Doug Bachli in 1954.

McDade, who bases himself at the Yarra Bend Golf Course in Melbourne's inner Eastern suburbs, accepted the award in front of a room of his peers gathered in Queensland for the Srixon PGA Coaching Summit.

Dedicating the achievement to his late father, McDade was humbled to receive the award that is fittingly named in memory of his former employer, Ross Herbert.

A Member of the PGA for over 20 years, McDade has coached as part of the Victorian Institute of Sport Golf Program for 11 years, and has spent two years as the Scholarship Coach at the AIS Golf Program.

As Head of the Titleist Performance Institute Junior Advisory Board, McDade is also passionate about researching and improving the way junior golf programs are structured and delivered – a topic he will present to his peers at today’s continuing Srixon PGA Coaching Summit.

Former winners of the award include Steve Bann, Ian Triggs, Gary Edwin, David Milne, Mark Gibson, Gary Barter and Dale Lynch.

Post a new comment

14 June 2018
Any discussion on the best courses in the world always includes Shinnecock Hills, an old and historic course in the sand dunes a couple of hours from ... Read more
11 May 2018
27 February 2018
29 January 2018
22 January 2018
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia