Golf Australia
News & Video

Preview: U.S. Women's Amateur, seven Australians

Minjee Lee, Su-Hyun Oh, Brad James & Breanna Elliott
Minjee Lee, Su-Hyun Oh, Brad James & Breanna Elliott

One of the highest honours in women's amateur golf, The U.S. Women's Amateur, starts Monday with seven Australians competing.

Golf Australian National Squad members Breanna Elliott (Vic), Minjee Lee (WA), Whitney Hillier (WA), Su-Hyun Oh (Vic) all enter the main draw with exemptions, as did Ashlee Dewhurst (Tas) and Grace Lennon (Vic). Mathilda Poulsen (Vic) progressed through event qualifying.

The form of the Australian group has been fantastic in the lead in, with Elliott winning the Trans National Amateur Championship, held at The Members Club in South Carolina last week. The 20-year old qualified second in the stroke play behind Whitney Hillier with scores of 69 & 76. She then progressed through the match play draw and won the 36 hole final 3 & 2 against 15-year old Princess Superal.

Perth's Minjee Lee won the U.S. Girls' Junior at Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City, near San Francisco on the 21st of July.

Minjee Lee powers to US Girls' Junior win

The Australian team have been in camp preparing at the Woodlands in Houston, Texas.

Exclusive: Elkington at National Camp in Houston

The Country Club in Cleveland Ohio will host the championships, the 112th in its history.

Since 1896 the Robert Cox Cup has been awarded annually by the USGA to the winner. Former top finishes include Morgan Pressel (winner 2005), Annika Sörenstam (runner-up 1992) and 2012 ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open winner Jessica Korda (runner-up 2010).

Remarkably, American Latanna Stone, age 10, has qualified for this year’s event.

Follow our girls on Twitter


Event Schedule (local time)

Monday, August 6:
7:30 AM - 9:30 AM & 12:30 PM - 2:30 PM. First round, stroke play - 156 players, first and 10th tees.

Tuesday, August 7:
7:30 AM - 9:30 AM & 12:30 PM - 2:30 PM. Second round, stroke play - 156 players, 1st and 10th tees. Immediately after play is finished - sudden-death play-off for final match-play spots.

Wednesday, August 8:
9:30 AM - 2:40 PM - First round, match play - 64 players, first tee.

Thursday, August 9:
7:30 AM - 10:00 AM - Second round, match play - 32 players, first tee.
1:00 PM - 2:10 PM - Third round, match play - 16 players, first tee.

Friday, August 10:
12:45 PM - 1:15 PM - Quarterfinals, match play - 8 players, first tee.

Saturday, August 11:
10:00 AM - 10:15 AM - Semifinals, match play - 4 players, first tee.

Sunday, August 12:
8:30 AM - Championship match for first 18 holes - 2 players, first tee.
1:30 PM - Championship match for second 18 holes - first tee.
Immediately after play - Prize Presentation Ceremony.

Post a new comment

28 November 2017
For Jonas Blixt, or Matt Jones or Cameron Smith or Jason Day winning the 2017 Australian Open would have been a significant achievement. Read more
03 October 2017
03 October 2017
05 September 2017
01 September 2017
29 August 2017
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia