Golf Australia
News & Video

VIDEO Rule of the Week: Playing a provisional ball

Hit an errant shot? Not sure if your ball has stayed in play? It might be time to hit a provisional ball. And there's more to it than just saying "I'm going to reload."

Watch World Number 6 and R&A Working for Golf Ambassador Suzann Pettersen and R&A Rules Official Shona McCrae discuss the decision



October is Golf Month. Share the golf bug to win the ultimate golf bug adventure to Barnbougle, Cape Wickham and Ocean Dunes courtesy of Air Adventure Golf Tours. Head to www.golfmonth.com.au for more details.

Comments

Posted by Peter Wildblood at
18/01/2014 02:56 PM
Where a lateral water hazard lies adjacent to an out of bounds - and out of sight of the tee. Can a provisional ball be played? If the ball is subsequently "found" within the lateral hazard and not out of bounds, does the player have a choice of balls to play? Can this be covered by a local rule?
Posted by Ian at
17/07/2012 08:39 PM
Part of this should also state that you cannot hit a provisional ball if the ball went into a hazard otherwise the next ball is in play?

Post a new comment

18 October 2017
Curtis Luck, the charismatic young Perth professional who walked the hallowed fairways of Augusta National this year, is coming back to play the ... Read more
05 September 2017
01 September 2017
29 August 2017
29 August 2017
26 August 2017
Inside The Ropes
Golf Australia